FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor Ground Attack|NOVO|FROG

FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack

FROG 1957

FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975


Коробка FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1974
Colour painting guide FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Box Wall side with Content FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Box Wall side with Skybase adv. FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Body wall side with other Red series kits FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Body wall side with other Red series kits FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Body wall side with other Red series kits FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Body wall side with other Red series kits FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Side wall of the lid FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Instructions leaflet FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Assembly instructions FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Decal sheet FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975
Dassault Mirage IIIE/O
F400 1975-1977 H(R) 55000 1xFrench AF & 1xRAAF

FROG model aircraft 1932-1976, R. Lines, L. Hellstrom



KIT COMMENT
БРАЙТОН 1974

Перед самой отправкой этого номера в печать, британские производители моделей анонсировали свои планы выпуска на текущий год на Брайтонской ярмарке игрушек. Frog, Lesney, Airfix and Revell представили длинный список новых выпусков, обозначенных либо боксартами для коробок, либо снимками тестовых сборок моделей.

Компания Frog планирует выпустить следующие модели в масштабе 1:72 (листы с декалями указаны в скобках): ..., Mirage IIIE...

Aviation News Vol 2 Num 19 15-28 February 1973



Modelling world
S. W. Stevens-Stratten
TOY FAIR REPORT
FROG

Я понимаю, что сомнительно, что какие-либо новые наборы Frog поступят в продажу до июня из-за недостатка новых коробок. Тем не менее, у FROG есть впечатляющий набор новинок, все в масштабе 1/72. Новое дополнение к Red Series - перехватчик Dassault Mirage IIIE/O . Также в (Зелёной) серии есть Lockheed Ventura PV-1 и истребитель Gloster Javelin FAW 9 с треугольным крылом.

В новых наборах FROG появится новая действующая подставка, а на новых коробках - привлекательная иллюстрация и достоверное руководство по окраске моделей.

AIRCRAFT ILLUSTRATED 1974-04


Modelling world
James Goulding
The Brighton Toy Fair

Стенд Rovex вызвал у меня глубочайшее разочарование. Я с нетерпением ожидал увидеть готовые модели таких типов, как Gloster Javelin, Mirage III, Typhoon IB, но ни одной модели не было видно — только множество пустых коробок.

Из включённых в каталог 1974г новых моделей, Gloster Javelin FAW9, Mirage III E/O, Typhoon IB, (с автомобильной дверью), Thunderbolt (bubble hood), Dornier Do 335A-6 или A-12, и LA.7, всё ещё продолжают ожидаться в продаже. Единственной новой моделью в каталоге 1975 года является Westland Lynx в цветах британской армии и французского флота. Но могут быть и другие необъявленные комплекты.

AIRCRAFT ILLUSTRATED 1975-04



KIT COMMENT
A NEW MIRAGE AND A REBUILT TYPHOON
TWO NEW KITS FROM FROG

Несмотря на объявленное Компанией намерение сократить выпуск новых наборов для британского рынока в текущем году, Frog снова выпустил две модели, вскоре поступающие в продажу. Это привлекательный Dassault Mirage III и переиздание истребителя Typhoon, но с дверью пилота автомобильного типа вместо каплевидного фонаря изначальной модели. Оба набора выполнены в масштабе 1:72 и заслуживают внимания энтузиастов.

Модель самолёта Mirage является полезной, поскольку позволяет постройку как в варианте IIIE французских ВВС, так и IIIO(A), в настоящее время использующегося в австралийских вооруженных силах. Внешних различий между двумя типами, конечно, немного, но набор содержит деталь обтекателя доплеровского навигационного радара для передней носовой части французского варианта самолета и также она может быть использована для постройки самолетов других стран.

Постройка модели была довольно простой, а инструкция адекватно иллюстрирует различные этапы. Мы обнаружили, что для удержания модели на трехопорном шасси, можно вообще не загружать носовую часть, что было очень хорошо, так как для размещения грузов в носовой части очень мало места. Сборка фюзеляжа с крыльями имеет обычную конструкцию с целой секцией нижней половины крыла пристыковывающейся снизу к фюзеляжу. К счастью, компания Frog предусмотрела заглушку внутри сопла двигателя, чтобы избежать открытого отверстия сквозь фюзеляж, а воздухозаборники выполнены двумя отдельными деталями в виде полуконического генератора скачка и внешней обшивки.

Именно с этими двумя деталями комплекта связаны небольшие критические замечания, которые мы должны сделать. Деталь 15, внешняя обшивка воздухозаборника, слишком толста для масштабного вида, что видно из фотографий нашей законченной модели. К счастью, это отдельная от остальной части фюзеляжа деталь, поэтому моделист может ее сточить, желая добиться точности, и исправить ее не так уж сложно. Наше второе замечание относится к соплу двигателя. Хотя в наборе есть заглушка, кажется, что в задней части модели явно не хватает деталей, которых, по результатам изучения фотографий, могло бы быть гораздо больше. Очевидно, что сложная оснастка увеличивает расходы производителя, а мы должны признать, что предоставленная детализация достаточно точна при взгляде на модель спереди. Однако, если смотреть сзади, особенно заметно отсутствие многих деталей в конструкции форсажной камеры, и требуется много работы и самостоятельного изготовления очень мелких деталей, чтобы исправить ситуацию.

За исключением этих двух небольших замечаний, мы пришли к выводу, что Mirage хорошая модель для сборки. Обнаружились небольшие зазоры вдоль корней крыла, потребовавшие немного шпаклёвки, а также у основания киля и вокруг стыка воздухозаборников с фюзеляжем. В кабине довольно мало деталей и не было даже попыток воспроизвести интерьер ниш шасси. Фонарь отлит одной деталью, но его можно разрезать на две части, и после тщательной обработки, его можно будет установить в открытом положении. Опры шасси и колёса кажутся точными, хотя опять же не хватает многих мелких деталей, которые появляются на настоящем самолёте. Предусмотрены альтернативные подвесные баки под крылом и две ракеты Sidewinder, подходящие к обеим версиям, предлагаемым в комплекте.

В нашей модели мы заменили пластиковую деталь носовой штанги ПВД обрезанной булавкой, которая кроме того, что лучше выдерживает износ, не нуждается в окраске и хорошо воспрозводит вид полированного метала. Детализация поверхности в виде тонких линий хорошо воспроизведена и точно размещена.

Лист декали - очень красивое произведение. Он содержит маркировку для самолёта из состава 3Sqdn RAAF, базировавшегося в 1972г в Баттерворте, Малайзия и был личным самолётом Винг-командера П. Дж. Скалли. Красные и чёрные знаки быстрого опознавания на киле воспроизведены очень хорошо, как и прочие мелкие и очень подробные маркировки и надписи, наносящиеся на крылья и подвесные баки. Французская маркировка предназначена для самолетов Escadron de Chasse 1/3 «Наварра», во время базирования в Нанси в 1972 году.

Aviation News Vol 4 Num 5 8 August - 21 August 1975



Modelling world
James Goulding
New Mirage

Вслед за Matchbox-овской моделью Mirage IIIC в масштабе 1/72 теперь Frog выпустил свою модель Dassault Mirage IIIE или O, вариант O используется Королевскими Австралийскими Воздушными Силами. Это хороший выбор варианта из-за значительно изменённой конструкции фюзеляжа и киля, и до сих пор не выпускавшийся в этом масштабе.

Это великолепный комплект: общая форма превосходна, а внешние детали хорошо проработаны. У моего тестового экземпляра набора имелась усадка пластика на толстой части киля, выглядевшая как деформация обшивки после многих часов полётов. Коническая крутка на передней кромке крыла хорошо воспроизведена и действительно точно передаёт вид треугольного крыла.

В наборе два типа сбрасываемых топливных баков для подвески под крылом и две ракеты Сайдвиндер с внешними пилонами.

Высококачественные переводные картинки содержат маркировку двух вариантов. Один набор - Mirage IIIE из Escadron de Chasse 1/3 'Navarre', базировавшегося на воздушной базе в Нанси, Франция. Другой - для Mirage IIIO(A) из состава 3 Squadron Корлевских Австралийских Воздушных Сил с базы в Бэттлворте, Малайзия. Переводную маркировку для других вариантов Mirage III, включая испанский, швейцарский и израильский, можно найти на листе компании ESCI. Цена модели Frog Mirage IIIE/O - 55 пенсов.

AIRCRAFT ILLUSTRATED 1975-09

NEW TO YOU?
FROG Dassault Mirage III E/O 1/72nd scale, price 55p.

Одним из самых коммерчески успешных из экспортных предложений французской военной техники стало семейство самолётов Dassault Mirage и эта серия уже достаточно хорошо представлена пластиковыми моделями. Эта новейшая модель в масштабе 1/72 представляет собой наиболее распространенную версию «E» и ее вариант, экспортную версию «O». Модель спроектированная с целью упрощения сборки, с килём и рулём направления отлитым целиком на одной из половинок фюзеляжа, крылом собираемым из трёхчастей, так чтобы стык совпадал с линиями кроя панелей, имеет кабину состоящую из пилота, катапультируемого сиденья и приборной панели. Пилот не соответствует стандарту остального комплекта, а хорошо отлитый фонарь требует подгонки, особенно сзади.

Одной из самых сильный сторон комплекта FROG являются прочные опроы шасси отлитые одной деталью и легко устанавливающееся на свои посадочные места. В противном случае, собираемые из отдельных деталей эти тонкие конструкции обычно оказываются ломкими. Набор предлагает две ракеты класса «воздух-воздух» Sidewinder, а также перегонные баки большой дальности или баки средней дальности, пилоны которых вклеиваются в щели в крыле. Наш выбор состоял в том, чтобы построить модель в австралийском варианте, без разведывательного обтекателя под носом.

Качество декалей, как обычно, высокое, с очень мелкими деталями и отличной цветопередачей. Включено немного технических трафаретных надписей также как и более заметная маркировка для фюзеляжа и знаки различия эскадрильи либо для французской эскадрильи «Наварра» Escadron de Chasse 1/3, либо для эскадрильи 3Sqn RAAF, базирующейся в Баттерворте, Малайзия.

Scale Models No.64 1975 NOVEMBER Vo6

NOVO F400 Dassault Mirage IIIE/O(A), NOVO Toys Ltd Cat.No.78171, 1980


NOVO F400 Dassault Mirage IIIE/O(A), NOVO Toys Ltd Cat.No.78171, 1980 box NOVO F400 Dassault Mirage IIIE/O(A), NOVO Toys Ltd Cat.No.78171, 1980 box NOVO F400 Dassault Mirage IIIE/O(A), NOVO Toys Ltd Cat.No.78171, 1980 box NOVO F400 Dassault Mirage IIIE/O(A), NOVO Toys Ltd Cat.No.78171, 1980 box NOVO F400 Dassault Mirage IIIE/O(A), NOVO Toys Ltd Cat.No.78171, 1980 тестовая коробка NOVO F400 Dassault Mirage IIIE/O(A), NOVO Toys Ltd Cat.No.78171, 1980 тестовая коробка NOVO F400 Dassault Mirage IIIE/O(A), NOVO Toys Ltd Cat.No.78171, 1980 тестовая коробка
78171 Dassault Mirage IIIE/O 0+

"0+" означает, что было поставлено очень мало или до сих пор не видели даже одного.

"Проблемы с производственными мощностями и пресс-формами имели общие причины. Иногда компетентность персонала и уровень обслуживания тоже оставляли желать лучшего. Это не только замедляло производство, но и вело к повреждениям пресс-форм. Например, оставленная под открытым небом на одну зиму пресс-форма Миража к весне, конечно же, полностью заржавела! (Позднее она была восстановлена до приемлемого состояния.)"

FROG model aircraft 1932-1976, R. Lines, L. Hellstrom



  • 30.01.2022

FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor Ground Attack|NOVO|FROG

FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack

FROG 1957

FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975


Upper box lid FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975
Colour painting guide FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Box Wall side with Content FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Box Wall side with Skybase adv. FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Body wall side with other Red series kits FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Body wall side with other Red series kits FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Body wall side with other Red series kits FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Body wall side with other Red series kits FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Side wall of the lid FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Instructions leaflet FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Assembly instructions FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975 Decal sheet FROG F400 Mirage IIIE/O Interceptor / Ground Attack, 1975
Dassault Mirage IIIE/O
F400 1975-1977 H(R) 55000 1xFrench AF & 1xRAAF

FROG model aircraft 1932-1976, R. Lines, L. Hellstrom



KIT COMMENT
BRIGHTON 1974

Just before this issue went to press, UK model manufacturers previewed their wares for the current year at the Brighton Toy Fair. Frog, Lesney, Airfix and Revell have a long list of new releases, indicated by either box art or test shots.

The following 1:72 scale subjects are scheduled for release by Frog, with their decal sheets in parenthesis: Mirage IIIE

Aviation News Vol 2 Num 19 15-28 February 1973



Modelling world
S. W. Stevens-Stratten
TOY FAIR REPORT
Frog

I understand that it is doubtful if any new Frog kits will be distributed before June owing to a shortage of boxes. However, there is an impressive array of new items, all in the 1/72 scale. New additions to the Red Series a Dassault Mirage IIIE/O intercepter . Also in this series is a Lockheed Ventura PV-1 and the Gloster Javelin FAW 9 delta-wing fighter.

A new style action display stand is to be included in the new Frog kits which will have attractive illustrated coloured boxes and will also include an authentic colour painting guide.

AIRCRAFT ILLUSTRATED 1974-04


Modelling world
James Goulding
The Brighton Toy Fair

My biggest disappointment came from the Rovex stand. I had eagerly expected to see completed models of such types as the Gloster Javelin, Mirage III and Typhoon IB, but not a model was to be seen — only lots of empty boxes.
    

There are still a number of Frog kits awaited from the 1974 catalogue, including the Gloster Javelin FAW9, Mirage III E/O, Typhoon IB, (car-door type), Thunderbolt (bubble hood), Dornier Do 335A-6 or A-12, and LA.7. The only new kit in the 1975 catalogue is the Westland Lynx, which will be in British Army and French Navy colours. There could be some other unannounced kits.
    

AIRCRAFT ILLUSTRATED 1975-04



KIT COMMENT
A NEW MIRAGE AND A REBUILT TYPHOON
TWO NEW KITS FROM FROG

IN spite of a declared intent to cut the issue of new kits onto the British market during the current year Frog have once again produced two models which will be in the shops shortly. They are an attractive Dassault Mirage III and a re-issue of the Typhoon but with the 'cab-door' cockpit instead of the original model's teardrop type of canopy. Both kits are in 1:72nd scale and worthy of the enthusiast's interest.

The Mirage is a useful model as it offers both the IIIE of the French Air Force and the IIIO(A) currently in use with the Australian forces. There are few external differences between the two types, of course, but the bulge for the Doppler navigation aid under the forward part of the nose on the French aircraft has been provided and this can be adapted for representative aircraft of other countries.

Construction of the model was fairly straightforward and the instruction sheet illustrates the various steps adequately. We found it was possible to get away without adding any nose weights to keep the model on its tricycle undercarriage which was just as well as there is very little room in the nose to get any in. Fuselage and wing construction are both conventional with the lower wing half being moulded in one complete section and fitting up under the fuselage. Thankfully, Frog have provided a blanking plate inside the jet orifices to avoid 'see-through' and the intakes are provided in two separate parts dividing the shock cone from the external skinning.

It is with these two parts that we have to make our first minor criticism of the kit. Part 15, the external skinning, is far too thick for scale size as can be seen from the photograph of our completed model. Fortunately, this is a separate part from the rest of the assembly and can therefore be filed down by the modeller wishing to achieve accuracy and is not too difficult to ammend. Our other small criticism concerns the jet orifices. Although the blanking plate has been provided there seems to be a distinct lack of detail in the rear of the model which according to a study of photographs has a lot more to offer. Obviously, complicated tooling adds expense and we must admit that the detail provided is accurate enough if one looks at the model from the forward position. The absence of the many parts in the afterburner structure is however particularly apparent when viewed from the rear and it needs a lot of work and very tiny parts to be custom-built to alter the suituation.

Apart from these two small points we found that the Mirage was a good model to build. There were the inevitable gaps around the wing roots that required filling and also the base of the fin and round the jet intake joints. The cockpit is rather sparse in detail and there has been no attempt to reproduce the interior of the wheel wells. The canopy comes in one piece but this can be cut in two and with some careful work made to appear in the open position. The undercarriage and wheels appear to be accurate though again lacking a lot of the detail that appears in the real aircraft. Alternate underwing drop tanks are provided and there's two Sidewinder missiles which apply to both versions offered in the kit.

In our model we replaced the plastic nose probe with a cut down pin which, apart from standing up to wear and tear better than the kit one, also meant that the polished metal tip was easily accomplished without painting. Surface detailing has been very finely and accurately reproduced without heavy panel lines and accurately placed.

The decal sheet is a very handsome production. It provides markings for a No.3 Sqdn aircraft of the RAAF when stationed at Butter-worth in 1972 and flown at that time by Wing Commander P. J. Scully. The red and black fin flashes are well produced as indeed are the various other small and highly detailed markings that go on the wings and around fuelling points. The French markings are for an aircraft of Escadron de Chasse 1/3 'Navarre' when based at Nancy again in 1972.

Aviation News Vol 4 Num 5 8 August - 21 August 1975




Modelling world
James Goulding
New Mirage

Following Matchbox's Mirage IIIC Frog has now released a 1/72 scale model of the Dassault Mirage IIIE or O, the O variant being operated by the Royal Australian Air Force. This is a good choice of version, because it has the considerably revised fuselage and fin design, and has not been produced before in this scale.

This is a splenid kit: the general shape is excellent and external detail is well produced. My sample kit did have some shrinkage of plastic on the solid fin, which looks rather like skin ripple after many hours of flying. The conical camber on the wing leading edge has been well reproduced to give a really authentic appearance to the delta wing.

Two types of drop tank are included for un-derwing installation and there are outer pylons for the Sidewinders.

A high quality transfer sheet is included to give markings for two versions. One set is for a Mirage IIIE of Escadron de Chasse 1/3 'Navarre', based at Nancy Air Base, France. The other is for a Mirage IIIO(A) of 3 Squadron, Royal Australian Air Force, based at Butterworth, Malaysia. Transfer markings for other Mirage operators can be found on the ESC1 sheet featuring the Mirage III, including Spanish, Swiss and Israeli versions. Cost of Frog's Mirage IIIE/O is 55p.

AIRCRAFT ILLUSTRATED 1975-09


NEW TO YOU?
FROG Dassault Mirage III E/O 1/72nd scale, price 55p.

ONE of the most successful French Military exports is the Dassault Mirage family, and the series are already reasonably well represented in plastic kits. This latest 1/72nd scale model represents the most common version, the "E" and its companion, the "0" export version. Tooled so that assembly is simplified, with one fuselage half carrying an integrated fin and rudder, and the wing in three parts, with joints so arranged that they are disguised by panel or control surface lines, it has cockpit detail which includes a pilot, ejection seat and instrument array. The pilot is not to the standard of the rest of the kit, and the well-moulded canopy requires work to make it a good fit, especially at the rear.

One strong point of the FROG kit is the single-piece moulding for the sturdy undercarriage which locates easily. These spindly structures otherwise tend to be fragile if they have to be built up from separated components. Two Sidewinder air-to-air missiles are provided as well as long-range ferry tanks, or medium-range tanks which are located into wing slots. Our choice was to make the model as the Australian version, without a reconnaissance pack under the nose.

As usual, the standard of the decals is high with very fine detail and excellent colour representation. Small stencilling is included as well as the more prominent fuselage markings and the Squadron insignia, for either the French "Navarre" Escadron de Chasse 1/3, or No. 3 Squadron, R.A.A.F. as based at Butterworth, Malaysia.

Scale Models No.64 1975 NOVEMBER Vo6


MODEL ENTHUSIAST
Oriental storm and desert illusion

The two most recent 1/72nd scale releases to reach us from Frog offer immense contrast in subject matter and a dearth of originality, representing the Hawker Typhoon Ib and the Dassault-Breguet Mirage III which are both already well established in the kit catalogues. While we cannot imagine many modellers commenting, "Ah, just what is needed", these are both good kits and there are some saving graces.

The Typhoon is a good basic kit with no pretensions towards the super-detailed but adequately capturing the massivity associated with this Hawker welterweight, but even taking into account the escalation that is hitting kit prices, this would seem to be somewhat overpriced at 55p in the UK and rather better value is, in our view, offered by the Mirage kit, which, with 39 component parts and again moulded in dark blue-grey, has the same UK retail price of 55p. Representing basically the Mirage IIIE, this kit may also be completed as a Mirage IIIO of the RAAF, the decal sheet, which is really first class, offering markings for a camouflaged example operated from Butterworth in 1972 by the Australian No 3 Squadron. The Markings for the Mirage IIIE are also attractive, these being applicable to an example operated by Escadron de Chasse 1/3 Navarre based at Nancy.

While by no means in the super-detailed category, this kit reproduces the quite complex contours of the Mirage very well, the concave leading edges of the wing being particularly well reproduced. External stores include two different types of fuel tank and two rockets. □
F J Henderson

Air Enthusiast 1975-10 vol.09 no.04


NOVO F400 Dassault Mirage IIIE/O(A), NOVO Toys Ltd Cat.No.78171, 1980


NOVO F400 Dassault Mirage IIIE/O(A), NOVO Toys Ltd Cat.No.78171, 1980 box NOVO F400 Dassault Mirage IIIE/O(A), NOVO Toys Ltd Cat.No.78171, 1980 box NOVO F400 Dassault Mirage IIIE/O(A), NOVO Toys Ltd Cat.No.78171, 1980 box NOVO F400 Dassault Mirage IIIE/O(A), NOVO Toys Ltd Cat.No.78171, 1980 box NOVO F400 Dassault Mirage IIIE/O(A), NOVO Toys Ltd Cat.No.78171, 1980 test box NOVO F400 Dassault Mirage IIIE/O(A), NOVO Toys Ltd Cat.No.78171, 1980 test box NOVO F400 Dassault Mirage IIIE/O(A), NOVO Toys Ltd Cat.No.78171, 1980 test box
78171 Dassault Mirage IIIE/O 0+

"0+" indicates that very-few, or none, have yet been seen.

Problems with production facilities and moulds were common. Although certain Soviet factories were fairly well-equipped, others had obsolete and unsuitable machinery. Staff competence and maintenance levels also sometimes left something to be desired. This not only slowed down production, but also led to some moulds being damaged. The Mirage mould, for example, was left out-doors one winter and was of course thoroughly rusty by spring! (It was later restored to usable condition.)

FROG model aircraft 1932-1976, R. Lines, L. Hellstrom



  • 30.01.2022